Dag Nasty – Dag With Shawn

13 Sep

Today is a momentous day for me.  I have long loved Dag Nasty, still do, and Can I Say is a record that continues to have a huge impact on me (I just realised I am wearing my Dag Nasty T-shirt today, it’s like I knew what was coming…)

Today I received a copy of one of Dischord’s new releases, Dag With Shawn, which was originally recorded on Halloween Day 1985 and features the original line up of the band with Shawn Brown on vocals. Initially songs from this session were to be released as a 4-song 7″ on Dischord, but shortly after the recordings Shawn left Dag Nasty and the tape was shelved. This original session has only been previously available as partial outtakes and unauthorised bootlegs and, until now, has never been released in it’s complete form.

This is also the first time I have EVER heard this album with Shawn Brown on vocals and it is sounding incredible, and very different to Dave Smalley’s style as Shawn’s vocals have a much more aggressive hardcore sound. Whilst the instrumentation is totally familiar to me, the vocals are so splendidly new and I am genuinely excited to be hearing it.

Dischord have excavated a fantastic album, taken from restored master tapes, and one which offers a unique view into the early development of one of DC’s most influential bands. Other Dag Nasty fans should get this, no questions asked.

Leave a Reply

